Codes x Vice Merchants Mixtape Vol. 1


Hopefully you’ve all taken my advice in keeping an ear out for the Brooklyn producer Codes, but in case you’ve skipped a beat, we’re here to tell you he’s back with a new mix for ya! This time he’s partnered up with bedding designers Vice Merchants to launch their new mixtape series, Under The Sheets. As a little side note, Vice Merchants are designing pretty interesting stuff: what looks like an elegant floral pattern from afar ends up being some risque drawings of chicks posing all over your bed. Not bad for the single bachelor, if you ask me. I suppose nothing beats going to bed surrounded by thousands of half-naked girls.
codes press photo
You can tell Codes has a ton of soul behind him, from the feeling of his mixtapes to his style of production and general taste and knowledge of music. It’s quite refreshing to listen to and discover someone who appreciates the history of electronic music, and is able to seamlessly blend the roots of old school R&B with house music. At the risk of sounding like a dork, Codes is the “chocolate milk” of today’s EDM scene. Whether you’re young or mature on the scene, Codes can be appreciated at any level for his classic twist on nostalgia. And like today’s gourmet variety of chocolate milks, Codes is able to sprinkle a little something different into each mix while still staying true to the heart of things.

On the horizon for Codes are remixes for the likes of Dances With White Girls and a collaboration remix with Tommy Sunshine of Disco Fries & Clinton Sparks’ “Killer.” He’s also got a bunch of stuff on deck for release through Slow Roast, including a remix for Kill The Noise’s “Perfect Combination”, another for Craze’s new single “Dance Alone”, and finally a Codes House Remix EP.

between the sheets volume 1 codes

Audio clip: Adobe Flash Player (version 9 or above) is required to play this audio clip. Download the latest version here. You also need to have JavaScript enabled in your browser.

Click to Download “Codes – Between The Sheets Mix Tape Vol1”
(Stream & Download Courtesy of Media Contender)

1. Oliver $ – Doin’ Ya Thang
2. Artistic Raw – B-More Bass
3. Craze feat. Wrekonize – Dance Alone (Codes Remix)
4. WhiteNoize – Le Bounce
5. Sandy Turnbull – Camino
6. Evil Nine feat. EL-P – Stay Up
7. Origin Unknown – Valley Of The Shadows (The Living Graham Bond Remix)
8. Disco Fries feat. Clinton Sparks – Killer (Tommie Sunshine & Codes Remix)
9. Piet Van Dongen feat. Patchy – She Can’t Stop This
10. Ron Carroll & The RC Project – The Sermon (Fred Pellichero & Laurent Pepper Remix)
11. Dr. Gonzo feat. Lazy Ants, His Majesty & Andre – Carcola
12. Chuckie & Mastiksoul feat. TOK – Body Move
13. Kill The Noise – My World (Torro Torro Remix)
14. Deviance – 93 Million Miles (D Nash Remix)
15. Mattie Safer feat. Ninjasonik – That Your Girl (Skeet Skeet Remix)
16. Solomun – Love Recycled 1
17. Julio Bashmore – Battle For Middle You
18. Myomi – Sun In My Eyes (Wax Motif & Neoteric Remix)
19. Slap In The Bass – Egypt (Hostage Remix)
20. Codes – What You Gonna Do (Gameface Remix)
21. Bro Safari – Da Worm
22. Swizz Beatz – Everyday (Coolin’) (Codes Remix)
23. Codes – World Rulin’
24. Between The Sheets Outro

As far as the mix goes, it’s an hour long selection of vibe-y house tunes, an excellent little mix in which to collaborate with a provocative design company. Escape the summer heat and romp around in those bed sheets with the fan on blast and a tall glass of lemonade. Add this mix and you’ve pretty much set yourself up for the quintessential Sunday.

Codes Summer 2011 Dates

7/7 Big Dancing Winnipeg, MB Canada
7/8 Too Legit Edmonton, AB Canada
7/16 Beer Rave Philladelphia, PA
7/23 Craze’s “Dance Alone” Release Party Miami, FL
8/12 Charlotte, NC


0 responses so far ↓

  • There are no comments yet...Kick things off by filling out the form below.

Leave a Comment